Skip to content

A Yoga for Each Chakra

Yoga for Each Chakra

Balancing Your Energy Centers With Yoga Positions

Yoga is growing fast as a popular addition to regular exercise routines. Yoga is great workout, but many people do not know about its ancient roots in holistic medicine and Hindu meditation. The practice was originally used to develop and balance the body’s energy centers, called chakras.

Yogic stimulation of the body’s seven chakras helps us process different kinds of energy. See the photos at the end of the article for pictures of each posture.


The root chakra is red in color, and is located at the base of the spine. This chakra processes our sense of survival and our connection with nature and the earth. The yoga posture “bridge” helps to stimulate this chakra. Holding this posture also strengthens the muscles in your abdomen and thighs.

Gender Center

The second chakra is located just above the genitals, and it is orange in color. This chakra helps us process sensual energy and creativity. The yoga posture “cobra” helps to stimulate this chakra. A fully functioning second chakra creates a sense of emotional well-being.

Solar Plexus

The third chakra, called the “lustrous gem,” is located at the solar plexus. This yellow chakra balances our own will power, and the power we have others. This chakra can be stimulated using the “bow” posture. Exercising the third chakra gives us an understanding of our place in the world.

Heart Center

The fourth chakra is home to our love, and it is predictable located over the heart. This green chakra helps us integrate our personal love with universal love. The yoga pose “camel” aids the energy of this chakra. True love from the heart chakra feels like joyous acceptance.

Throat Center

The fifth chakra is blue, and it rests over our throat. This chakra incorporates our listening and speaking skills. It helps us absorb and communicate wisdom. The “fish” posture is a great pose for regulating this chakra. A strong throat chakra appreciates both noise and silence.


The third-eye chakra is deep blue or purple in color, and it is located in the middle of the forehead. This chakra controls our perception of the past and our feeling about the future. The seated “yoga mudra” posture helps to stimulate this chakra to give confidence in your life path.


The seventh chakra, called the crown, is seen as white or purple. This chakra connects your individual consciousness to the collective consciousness. Meditation is the best way to stimulate this chakra. Try a calming, seated meditation after each vigorous yoga workout.